Application and Benefits of LiDAR Measurements

LiDAR (Light Detection And Ranging) measurements have become very popular in the last years. Because its compact dimensions and the capability to measure up to 200 m and higher with great precision more and more measurements are conducted with LiDARs. Do we still need met mast based measurements?

 

Most projects do significantly benefit from using a LiDAR for site assessment because of its advantages compared to met masts and pressure of time within the project schedules. When looking into detail on the method of measurement, some points have to be kept in mind for application.


LiDAR measures wind speed by determining the speed of dust particles (aerosol) on different locations above the LiDAR. Compared to the rotating cups of an anemometer the weight of the particles is negligible small. Therefore, measurements taken during gusts or slowdowns of the wind speed will be measured different compared to cup anemometers.


Caused by the cone angle of 28° (the angle of each beam to the vertical), the distance between single measurement points increases with measurement height. Wind conditions are different on each measurement point and also taken measurement values are different compared to single point cup anemometer measurements.


For this reason verification tests have to be carried out in order to compare the measurements to calibrated cup anemometer measurements. During these tests the lidar is placed next to the met mast and values taken are compared and analyzed in greater detail. Depending on the complexity of the terrain at the target site, verification should be carried out on site or prior to the application on a testing site.


Hence, there are applications when the LiDAR can operate on its own but some applications in complex terrain may still require a measuring mast. However, on complex sites significant improvements can be reached when using a LiDAR to measure wind on selected turbine locations. These measurements are used for validation of model results and uncertainties (P50, P75, P90) of the wind study are reduced significantly.

 

Advantages

  • Compact size
  • Easy to transport
  • No building permission required
  • Measures up to 200 m and higher

 

Disadvantages

  • Precision of measurement is significantly depending on surrounding terrain
  • Verification with calibrated anemometer required to safeguard bankability

 

Service of GEO-NET

  • Conception of LiDAR measurement campaigns and estimation of uncertainties before implementation
  • Verification of LiDARs
  • Conduction of LiDAR measurements with or without met mast
  • Supervision of LiDAR measurement campaigns

Anwendung und Vorteile von LiDAR Messungen

LiDAR-Messungen (Light Detection And Ranging) setzen sich seit einigen Jahren immer stärker durch. Aufgrund der kompakten, mobilen Geräte und der Möglichkeit Windprofile bis 200m Höhe und darüber hinaus mit höchster Präzision zu messen, werden immer mehr Messkampagnen mit LiDAR durchgeführt.


Die Mehrzahl von Projekten kann durch eine LiDAR-Messung deutlich profitieren. Neben den übrigen Punkten ist die Zeitersparnis gegenüber einer Mastmessung angesichts enger Zeitpläne ein Hauptvorteil. Im Detail müssen aber einige Aspekte genau betrachtet und abgewogen werden.


Das Messprinzip des LiDARs beruht auf der Rückstreuung von Aerosolpartikeln, die von der Luftströmung transportiert werden. Die Messung ist berührungslos und wird anders als bei Cup-Anemometern nicht von der Trägheit der rotierenden Cups (Schalen) beeinflusst. Die Sensitivität für Turbulenz ist damit unterschiedlich im Vergleich zu Cup-Anemometern.


Anders als bei Mastmessungen erfolgt die Messung in einer Höhe nicht an einem Punkt im Raum sondern setzt sich aus mehreren verschiedenen Punktmessungen auf einer Ebene zusammen. Durch den Öffnungswinkel des Laserstrahl zur Vertikalen liegen die Messpunkte umso weiter auseinander je größer die Messhöhe ist.


Aus diesem Grund ist ein Verifikationstest zum Vergleich zwischen LiDAR und kalibrierten Cup-Anemometern erforderlich. Beim Verifikationstest wird das LiDAR unmittelbar neben einem Messmast platziert und die simultan gemessenen Daten werden korreliert und analysiert. Bei komplexen Standorten kann es günstig sein, den Verifikationstest mit Hilfe eines Mastes direkt am Standort durchzuführen.


Es existieren also Anwendungsfälle, in denen ein LiDAR allein eingesetzt werden kann. In manchen Szenarien kann auf einen Messmast aber weiterhin nicht verzichtet werden. In jedem Fall stellt eine LiDAR-Messung an geplanten Windpark-Standorten eine Verbesserung der Datenbasis dar, so dass eine Reduzierung der Unsicherheit von Ertragsprognosen (P75, P90) zu erwarten ist. 

 

 

Vorteile

  • Kompakte Größe
  • Leicht zu transportieren
  • Keine Baugenehmigung erforderlich
  • Messhöhe bis 200m und höher

 

Nachteile

  • Messgenauigkeit ist an komplexen Standorten verringert
  • Bankfähige Messung erfordert Verifikationstest an standardkonformen Messmasten

 

Leistungen von GEO-NET

  • Konzeption der LiDAR-Messkampagne und Voreinschätzung der zu erwartenden Unsicherheit
  • LiDAR-Verifikation
  • LiDAR-Messung mit und ohne Messmast
  • Überwachung und Evaluierung von LiDAR-Messkampagnen